You cant read this, or can you?

Washington State Women's History: Suffrage Centennial, 1910 - 2010

Last update: September 23, 2010

Send comments to: Carlos A. Diaz

Tell Us Your Washington Suffrage Story:

Washington's Suffrage Movement:

Northern Pacific Railroad's advertisement in
Progress Magazine for Suffrage Special train
taking delegates to July 1909 National American
Woman Suffrage Convention in Seattle, March 1909

Seattle women posting signs to
promote woman suffrage, 1910

Washington Women's Cookbook, 1909
Check out our copy of the cookbook

Susan B. Anthony
First Woman to Address the
Washington Territorial Legislature

Alalska-Pacific-Yukon Exposition (1909)

Rev. Anna Howard Shaw
National American Woman Suffrage Association, President

Avis Hunsicker, Anna Capwell, and Janet Stranack,
who served as pages during National American
Woman Suffrage Association convention,
Seattle, July 8, 1909

Votes for Women, v.1 no.1, October 1909

Washington's Leading Suffragists

Sarah Yesler

Emma Smith DeVoe

Missouri T.B. Hanna

Abigail Scott Duniway

Alice Lord

Bertha Knight Landes

Mary Arkwright Hutton

Nettie Craig Asberry

Digital Collections

The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA)

Washington Women Leaders

Christine Gregoire, Governor of Washington State
(2005 - Present)
Native of Auburn, WA
2nd female governor of Washington State
1st female Attorney General for
Washington State (1993 - 2004)

Patty Murray, U.S. Senator
(1993 - Present)
Native of Bothell, WA
1st female U.S. Senator to represent
Washington State

Maria Cantwell, U.S. Senator
(2001 - Present)
native of Auburn, WA
2nd female U.S. Senator to represent
Washington State

Dixy Lee Ray
(1977 - 1981)
native of Tacoma, WA
1st female governor of Washington State

Women of Controversy

Narcissa Whitman

  • Marcus and Narcissa Whitman/The Whitman Masacre

    Women of Merit

    Bertha Pitts Campbell

    Nora B. Adams

    Thelma DeWitty

    Men as Supporters of Women's Suffrage

    John R. Rogers
    Third State Governor of Washington,

    David Denny

    George Fletcher Cotterill

    Arthur Denny

    Walter J. Thompson (left)
    Tacoma Banker and Philanthropist

    The Evergreen State College's logo
    Cookie Setter